7th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 5 | Open Topic

It’s day five of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge!  Today is open topic but I’m going to talk about what’s working for me and what’s not since I won’t be blogging tomorrow on my Shabbat.

20170515_143040~2.jpg

What’s working for me are flats in general!  I’ve been able to diaper both my boys at night with no leaks and no rashes.  Yay!!  With my microfiber inserts I think the problem was that I just couldn’t get them clean enough.  We moved a while ago and now have off the charts hard water and the amount of water softener needed made it ridiculously expensive.

One thing that is not my favorite about the flats is that unless you’re just pad folding there are a lot of different layers that poop can get into.  It has made it harder to get the poop off before throwing them into the wash.  I will have to figure out a better folding method though if I’m going to use wool diapers.  So far every time there’s been poop it had gotten on the cover.  That won’t be so fun with wool.

I did get my wool cover in yesterday!  After lanolizing it it’s being used for the first time right now.  Hopefully my oldest will get used to wearing it.  Right now he complains that it itches him.  If he doesn’t get used to it at least I know I can just put a pocket diaper on him with flats and not have leaks.  And I’m sure the “itchiness” wont bother my youngest so he can always wear it.

Anyway, It’s been going good over all.  I do have a ridicules amount of poopy diapers to wash today though.  I think I may have to do a couple pre-rinses.  Always fun…..

This is a Blog Hop!  Check out the other post here!

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment!

