7th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 3 | What’s your favorite fold?

It’s day three of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge!  It’s been going great so far.  I’ve washed diapers every night and so far it’s been an easy process but I’m going to have to deal with my first poopy diapers tonight so we’ll see how that goes.

Today’s topic is “What’s your favorite fold for flats?”.  Since I’m still such a newbie to the flats I’m sure it’ll change a few times as I get better at pinning them but here’s what I’ve been doing so far.

Most of the time my little man just runs around in the flat with no cover so before I had any pins I’d just do an origami fold and tie it in the front.  When I put a cover on him I’d just untie it and tuck it around the sides so it wouldn’t be so bulky in the front.

IMG_8243

At night I tried this with a flour sack towel but he leaked out.  I also tried a pad fold but he leaked out of that too.  I think one flour sack just isn’t enough but adding another is too bulky.

Now that I have my OsoCozy flats (which I love) I’ve been adding two.  One as a kite fold (kinda, I fold it down again in the back so there are extra layers around his hips) and the other pad folded.  It has worked great, no leaks.  I might try getting away with only one, maybe they’re more absorbent than the flour sack towels.

IMG_8248

Once I got my pins in and tried pinning the flats I couldn’t get the origami fold to pin tightly.  I’m sure it just takes practice but right now a flat folded like a prefold is by far my favorite. (I’m not really sure what you’d call that.  I saw it here.)  It fits nice and snug and has little built-in gussets.

IMG_8246

Those are about the only folds I’ve experimented with so far.  Other than a plain pad fold if I know I’m just going to put him straight in a cover.

This is a blog hop!  Check out other favorite folds here!

 

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment!

