7th Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge – Day 1 | Why are you taking the challenge?

It’s the first day of the Flats and Handwashing Challenge! Today’s topic is “Why are you taking the challenge?”.

I am taking the challenge to help kick-start my switch to flats.  I just today got in my first set of flats.  Up until now (which is just this last week) I have been using flour sack towels and receiving blankets. I didn’t even have pins until this afternoon and was simply tying them to keep them on.

20170515_142957~2

I exclusively (minis trips when we wouldn’t have our own washer… so I guess not really exclusively 😊) cloth diapered my first child with pocket diapers.  I loved them for the first two years but by the time my second child was born they were having issues. I had only 12 diapers I was rotating through and believe that they just got worn out.  The elastic was shot, a few of the snaps had gotten pulled out and the PUL was worn in places.  No matter what I did I could not keep them from leaking if my son peed more than once in them.

It was rather discouraging.  Here I thought, after much research, I had gotten the best of the best and was going to be able to use them for several children only to have them wear out after one child?  Many people use and love pocket diapers for multiple children so I’m sure in part it was user error but I was burned out.  My baby is almost one and has been in disposables most of the time because I was tired of washing sheets.

So I’m ready to start over and get back on the cloth band wagon.  I had always heard of wool covers but had brushed them off because they sounded complicated and not washing them after they got peed on?  That sounded gross.  But my mind went back to them because no elastic, snaps or PUL to wear out sounded pretty amazing right now.  Plus not having synthetics on your child all day and not contributing to the plastic sitting in a landfill forever once they’ve reached the end of their lifespan are big deals to me.  After some research I decided I definitely wanted to try wool.

Once I had decided I wanted to try wool covers my next decision was prefolds or flats to put in them?  (I’m skipping the fitted option for now because more elastic).  This is when I found the Flats and Handwashing Challenge.  I love what the challenge stands for.  I love that I can diaper my baby with things I already have in the house.  I love that flats are supposed to be easier to get clean (I believe that not being able to get my microfiber inserts clean enough in our very hard water was one of my biggest problems).  I love that they are made out of natural materials.  The list could go on.

So I’m very excited to spend this week starting over with flats.  If nothing else it is something new that is lighting the cloth diaper fire again.  I’m hoping this challenge is the kick-start I need.  And handwashing?  That’s just the icing on top.  Our power goes out all the time.  Sometimes for days.  So I’m sure hand washing is a skill I can use.

Sometimes (or more than sometimes I’m beginning to see) the old way really is the better way.

To read about why other people are taking the challenge check out the linkup here.

I'd love to hear what you think! Leave a comment!

